Victorian government schools teach the Victorian Essential Learning Standards (VELS) which include a range of subjects covering:

  • physical, personal and social learning
  • discipline-based learning
  • interdisciplinary learning

The VELS form the basis for curriculum planning and assessment from Prep to Year 10 in all Victorian schools.  For more information about Victorian curriculum, see:

The following areas are covered throughout a child's progress from Prep - Year 10:

  • health and physical education
  • interpersonal development
  • personal learning
  • discipline-based learning in the arts
  • English
  • languages other than English (LOTE)
  • the humanities - economics (levels 4 - 6)
  • the humanities - geography (levels 4-6)
  • the humanities - history (levels 4-6)
  • mathematics
  • science
  • communication
  • design, creativity and technology
  • information and communications technology (ICT)
  • thinking processes

At primary school it is a two year program except for Prep. 

  • Level 1 - Prep
  • Level 2 - Years 1 & 2
  • Level 3 - Years 3 & 4
  • Level 4 - Years 5 & 6

Years Prep - 4 (Levels 1 - 3) - Laying the foundations

In these years the curriculum focuses on developing the fundamental knowledge, skills and behaviours in literacy and numeracy and other areas including physical and social capacities which underpin all future learning

Years 5 to 8 (Levels 4  & 5) - Building Breadth and Depth

In these years students progress beyond the foundations and their literacy and numeracy becomes more developed.  An expanded curriculum program provides the basis for in depth learning within all domains in the three learning strands.

Teachers cover all areas related to each Level over a two year period.  The planning overview included below is the broad outline of the knowledge, skills and behaviours that are being focussed on for the term.  Weekly planning from this at a class level will include planning for the individual needs of students and where they are at on their learning continuum.  Thus, not all students will be doing exactly the same tasks.  Tasks are planned to allow students to learn at their own level.

This communication initiative was introduced in 2011 and was developed from feedback from parents.  It will also be included on the website.  Along with this, MPPS is further developing its Learning Journey folders, providing extra student work samples with indications of the skills and knowledge demonstrated.  It is hoped that the combination of the curriculum and the Learning Journals will provide parents with a clearer understanding of their child's progress.


Skoolsite - School Website Designs - School Website Packages - Websites for Schools